At Edward Worlledge we believe in the importance of children in Foundation Stage learning through hands-on experience and having opportunities to develop their understanding of the world through investigation and structured play. We are aware that children learn best in an environment where they feel safe and secure and therefore we strive to make learning fun and ensure that the children are happy.  We focus on developing the whole child, encouraging positive attitudes, building high self-esteem and instilling in our children a love of learning. 

The early years foundation stage (EYFS) curriculum sets standards for the learning, development, and care of children from birth to 5. It’s the first stage of a child’s education. It ends when a child enters key stage one (KS1). 

There are seven areas of learning within the EYFS which are: 

Prime areas 

  • Communication and Language 
  • Personal, Social and Emotional Development 
  • Physical Development 

Specific areas 

  • Literacy 
  • Mathematics 
  • Understanding the World 
  • Expressive Arts and Design 

Although all of the areas of learning are important, the prime areas are crucial for laying the foundations for success in future learning. 

The EYFS also promotes the ‘Characteristics of Effective Learning’ which guides staff to reflect on the different ways in which children learn. 

The characteristics of effective teaching and learning are: 

  • playing and exploring – children find out and explore, play with what they know and are willing to ‘have a go’ 
  • active learning – children get involved and concentrate, keep trying and enjoy achieving what they set out do 
  • creating and thinking critically – children have their own ideas, make links and choose ways to do things